What I’m Watching!!!

Hi guys!

So I promised to try and post more regularly… and I’m kind of doing it! Sort of!  I’m currently swamped with work and interviews and life in general, so this is going to be a short catch-up post about what I’m watching right now.

First of all, possibly one of my new favorite dramas ever, the most amazing Flower Boy Next Door.

Unknown

This is possibly one of the most adorable, heartfelt, melancholy, uplifting dramas I’ve seen in a very long time.  TvN, the Korean cable tv channel has been making a name for itself in recent years for producing new, innovative dramas that rise above cliched scenarios, and create worlds that are thought-felt and well-formed.  After Shut Up Flower Boy Band, Queen Inhyun’s Man, and Reply 1997, I really shouldn’t be surprised by its quality anymore, but I am.  This show is beautiful, and touching.  The main lead Go Dok Mi, played by the beautiful Park Shin Hye, is an introverted, shy, isolated girl who has past trauma that makes her dislike leaving her room let alone talk to people.  Enrique, played by the adorable and hyperactive Yoon Shi Yoon, is one of the cutest male leads ever.

tumblr_mi5twiSdJe1r8sro0o1_500

Look at that face.  How can you not love him!?  He’s like a puppy bouncing around constantly, but Shi Yoon manages to give him emotional depth and a more serious, empathetic core that makes him more likeable.  When he cries my heart breaks into a thousand little pieces.  This show may seem like a surface romance with no substance, but it absolutely isn’t.  It’s about how humans make connections, and tonally it reminds me of Amelie, and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, and a lot of my other favorite films.  You should definitely check it out if you want a heart-warming romance and a beautiful world full of well-rounded characters.  Here’s a fanvid if you want one!!

 

 

Karamazov No Kyoudai (Brothers Karamazov)

350px-Karamazov

This Japanese drama is also spectacular.  There are only four episodes out so far, but I am so impressed at the moment.  Late-night dramas have burned me in the past with promising beginnings and rubbish endings, but this drama’s foundation in a well-loved book gives me hope that the producers know what they’re doing.  Also, the actors of the show, Ichihara Hayato, Saito Takumi, and Hayashi Kento are well-respected and very very good, which is honestly a nice change compared to the Japanese shows I’ve watched recently (Piece I’m looking at you).  Anyways, it’s about three brothers who have very dark histories and issues, and are currently being interrogated by the police for the death of their father.  It explores the events leading up to it, and focuses on each of the guys individually so that we can understand why each had a motive.

Screen Shot 2013-01-19 at 10.51.25 PM

On the surface it’s a drama trying to uncover which of the guys did it, but in reality it’s all about the twisted nature of humanity, and the darkness that is in each one of us.  Tonally this drama is awesome.  It’s got great music (seriously the OST is awesome, they even have some Stones songs!), the lighting/cameras are exposed in a greenish/dark light, giving everything a sinister, creepy, dark, and heavy feeling.

Screen Shot 2013-01-19 at 10.50.49 PM

I’ve not read the original Russian book this is based off, but I now really want to, because it’s selling the creepy dark, and twisted vibe so well.  If you’re into something serious and dark, watch this.  I’m not joking, it’s awesome.

And last but not least, some anime for you guys!! Just to cover all my bases!!  I’m currently watching, after a friend recommended it to me, the anime K, or K Project.

images

I’m only three episodes in, and I’m still having issues figuring out exactly what’s going on, but visually it’s gorgeous.  It’s about a sort of futuristic, alternate Japan that has peeople who use magic, though the general public don’t know about it.  However, there are battles going on, and it revolves around this mystery of one particular guy who seems to have been set up for murder.  It’s a bit confusing, and I’m not explaining it well, but it’s gorgeous and the anime guys are really hot (and they like to hug a lot which makes my fangirl heart screech in content) so check that out if you like animes!  Here is a fanvid if you’re interested!

 

 

Anyway that’s it for me! I adore comments so lemme know what you guys are watching! Any more recommendations!?

4 thoughts on “What I’m Watching!!!

    • It is indeed! I’ve still not actually finished it! Life has caught up and I’m only two episodes from the end, have to get on that! Thanks for the comment!

  1. I’m guessing that you probably finished Flower Boy Next Door by now! It will be great to have a full review of it 🙂 I personally loved it, one of the very few kdramas where I didn’t have to skip some boring minutes or cry myself to sleep because of a stupid plot twist or ending. This drama was just perfect! The ending made me shed tears of happiness! I will most likely always watch TvN’s dramas, they are doing a really good job!

    • Wahh!!! Thank you for the comment! I’m planning on writing up some new posts in the next few weeks. I did finish Flower Boy Next Door. I have to admit episodes 12-14 bored me, but then the ending was perfect, so I was able to look over that! I’ll write my thoughts out in a full post in a few days!!

Leave a Reply

