30 Day Jdrama Challenge: Day 6

Hi guys!  So sorry I haven’t been keeping up to date with my blog!  I was travelling for a few days, and then I had to  go back to university, which has been completely mad, so I have a feeling it’s going to be a bit harder for me to make regular posts on here.  However, I’m really going to try to make at least one post a week, and if I have more time/inspiration I’ll do more.  I was thinking of recapping the rest of the jdrama Sprout, but for some reason I can’t find an eng sub version of ep 8.  If anyone knows about it, then please let me know so I can watch it!

Because I’m so busy, this will be a really quick post in the thirty day jdrama challenge.  I’m on Day 6: favorite song from a jdrama ost.  I (yet again) can’t pick one, so here are just some of my favorites!  Enjoy!

First, Ikemen Boogie from the original Japanese Hana Kimi.

This was one of my first jdramas, and this song really reminds me of my crack addiction for the show.  When I listen to it, it takes me back to warm memories of a bunch of idiotic hot (they ain’t called ikemen for nothing) boys acting bizarre and hilarious together (especially Yamamoto Yusuke… I LOVE YOU YUSUKE!!!!).

 

 

Arigatou (a.k.a. Flavor of Life) from Hana Yori Dango

I adore this song.  It is a very beautiful, touching song, and the vocals especially are really soft and warm, with just enough sadness to make you remember the angsty burn HYD was so good at giving.  I’m a HYD fan, not gonna lie.  I’ve seen both the Korean and the Japanese version, and both have special places in my heart.  This song makes me remember the love between Tsukushi and Domyouji, which was really tangible.  The actors had loads of chemistry, and I totally shipped them!

 

 

Buzzer Beat’s opening song.

Buzzer Beat was a drama that had lots of problems, but the romance and the general storyline was so adorable that I still really enjoyed it.  The drama also managed to use its OST really well.  It made sure to hit the guitar (for this song in particular) right in the critical romantic moments, which means this song forever is a happy song that bodes well for OTPs!

 

 

Continuing on from Buzzer Beat’s opening, I also absolutely adore the violin piece played throughout the drama.  This song is very sweet, ethereal, and really is just beautiful.  If anyone out there likes violin music, you should listen to it.  This is a simple piece, and isn’t particularly a difficult one to learn (I used to play violin, trust me, it’s not hard), however its simplicity adds to its beauty.  The song really strikes of hope and possibility.  I wasn’t sure how I felt about Buzzer Beat originally, but when this song started at the end of the first episode, I could suddenly feel the beginnings of young, tentative love, both for myself and between the main leads.  I totally adore this song!

 

 

Q10 Honto no Kimochi

I like the feeling of this song, as well as of the drama.  Both have a slightly alternative feel, which I find refreshing.  Rather than choosing an idol group to sing a typical Jpop song, this one really shows the reflective and independent vibe that I love so much about this show!  I know people either love or hate this drama, but it really hits the right notes for me.

Manzashi, Honey L Days from the Tumbling OST.

I think everyone who reads this blog will know by now that I’m a bit obsessed with Tumbling.  When you have a drama that you watch over and over, and you love to bits, soon the memories of the drama become something extremely special, and little things in your day to day life make you remember it.  A good OST likewise will immediately bring you back into the drama, so it feels like you’re actually watching the show again, even if you’re nowhere near a computer or DVD set.  When I listen to this song, I feel like I’m hanging out with an old friend, because that’s what the drama Tumbling has become.  Therefore, this song brightens my day when I’m sad, and puts a big old smile on my face whenever I listen to it.

Anyways, that’s it for me!  What are your opinions?  Did I miss your favorite song?  Do you agree?  I love hearing your thoughts and opinions!

Leave a Reply

