More Kpop (with a little side of Supernatural)

I know I’ve been absent for the past week *my bad* but I’ve actually been quite busy.  Even though it’s summer I’m working on my dissertation for university, which takes up a lot of time researching.  Also, I was in Yosemite for the past two days hiking, so I’ve had no time to update.  However, I’m BACK!!  I have to be honest, I’ve not been watching any Asian dramas in the past week.  Instead, in the limited free time I have gotten, I’ve been marathoning Supernatural again.  I’m only on Season 2 (I only started watching it this year, I was a late bloomer), but I absolutely love love LOVE Dean, played by Jensen Ackles.  I’m normally not a fan of blonde or muscly men, but boy is he an exception.  He has friggin beautiful eyes.  And as you probably all know if you’ve read other posts from this blog, I love characters who are gruff and unable to express emotions well, but have a soft side deep down, so I officially love Dean.  Also, he’s hilarious!!

so much approval right now

However, moving on from Supernatural, I was thinking of doing a little kpop update again.  There haven’t been many songs that I like out recently, so this will be a small post!

Beast’s Beautiful Night

Love this song!  To be completely honest my favorite bit is Hyunseung’s (sorry if I spelled that wrong).  He has a really unique voice, which at times I find annoying and at other times I find really appealing.  In this song, his voice really suits the song, and I almost wish he had more lines.  I love Yoseob to bits (he’s so cute!  He’s like a mini troll in your garden who serenades to you when you’re trying to wake up!) and he does a great job a well.  It’s a really different style for Beast, and while I think my personal favorite will always be Fiction, I still love this song.  I know Doojoon said in an interview that the band was getting depressed with all the serious concepts they’d had recently and they wanted a change-up.  They did a great job, and it looks like they had a great time filming this.  I have to add though, I don’t know understand this new trend of Kpop bands putting in loads of foreign models.  I know Beast went to New York to shoot it, but seriously they’re the only Asian people in the MV! WHY!??

Teen Top Be Ma Girl

I don’t really like this song that much.  Sorry Teen Top fans.  The MV is a bit boring, the song is just a typical Brave Brothers song, and I personally think the boys deserve better.  I’ve been a bit disappointed with Teen Top recently.  I don’t know what this says about me or the band, but my all time favorite Teen Top song is still Clap, their debut song.  I liked the serious intense concept a lot more, and while Niel was pretty much the only one singing, his voice is great.

Teen Top Clap – I miss this song!  The only bad bit is that they say “crap” intsead of clap.  Just a bit awkward… considering the chorus basically sounds like they’re saying “I’m so crazy, crap crap crap that man.”  Oh well, awkward engrish for the win!

AOA Elvis

So this song and band just debuted, I only heard about them this morning, but I actually really like the song!  The chorus sounds a bit familiar (you know what I’m talking about, don’t lie), but they changed it JUST enough so it isn’t plagiarism.  The rest of the song is nice and I like the hip hop vibe.  I also think the MV is hilarious.  The first few seconds my reaction was like “great another kpop girl group with a stupid freaking angel concept” but then the song kicked in and I was like, huh, the concepts don’t seem to mesh.  Then the song kept going, and the angels concept suddenly became really amusing, especially because their landings grew less and less graceful.  I really like this new and improved angel concept.  Let’s be honest, if I was an angel who’d just fallen from heaven, rather than walking around looking pretty and mopey, I’d totally be like “might as well have some fun with this” and go all out with the rock and roll look.  Yay for badass angels!

Anyways, that’s it for me!  What do you guys think?  What songs have you been listening to?  Also does anyone else like Supernatural, cos I have a feeling I may be making a few more posts about it (I love ghosts, I love bromance, I love creepy things, I love comedy, and I love hot guys… Supernatural, you complete me!).  Sorry if you don’t like it, but I never said this blog would only be about Asians!  It’s about all the things I love!

Leave a Reply

